This site is sponsored by Southfield Carpet Cleaners located in Southfied Michigan. If you're looking for the best carpet cleaning SouthField, MI be sure to check them out. They offer full service carpet cleaning as well as upholstery cleaning at great prices.
Soccer Gaming Forums
Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Rules User CP Tools Home


Go Back   Soccer Gaming Forums | FIFA Forums, FIFA Mods, Futball > Management Games > Other Management Games > Championship Manager Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 24-03-2005, 12:05:AM   #1
Sir Calumn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Possible Solution to Mid-Match Crashes

I don't know whether any of you are experiencing this, but I know I was and some other people I talked to were aswell, so maybe it's a common thing.

When I was playing CM5, it kept crashing in the middle of matches loosing everything after my last save and screwing up my computer into needing a restart. It prettymuch made it unplayable, however, I think I have found a solution to the problem from the readme's and help sections on the CM site, so far it's all working for me again anyway.

1) Completely uninstall the game.
2) Make sure you have the latest drivers for your video card and that they work with Direct X 8.1
3) Clean out old temp (.TMP) files from the CWINDOWS\TEMP or CWINx\TEMP directory on your hard drive.
4) Run Disk Defragmenter and Scandisk.
5) Make sure Virtual Memory is turned on.
6) Make sure no antivirus softwear is doing anything besides sitting dormant while the game is loading.
7) Reinstall the game and see if this works.

It worked for me, thankgod, because I nearly took it back to the shops.
 
Old 26-03-2005, 09:32:PM   #2
antena
Club Supporter
 
antena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
antena is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalumnCFC
2) Make sure you have the latest drivers for your video card and that they work with Direct X 8.1
3) Clean out old temp (.TMP) files from the CWINDOWS\TEMP or CWINx\TEMP directory on your hard drive.
4) Run Disk Defragmenter and Scandisk.
5) Make sure Virtual Memory is turned on.
6) Make sure no antivirus softwear is doing anything besides sitting dormant while the game is loading.
I have the same problem, I go into a match and then BAM freeze. sound, mous, kboard etc all frozen, all i can do is restart. very annoying, anyway, i got some "noob" questions to ask u, appreciate it if u answer them:
2) How do I check?
3) Is it okay if I just delete everything in that folder?
4) Again, How?
5) Again, How?
6) I have Sophos Remote Update and SpyCleaner Gold running, is that okay?

THANKS!
antena is offline  
Old 26-03-2005, 10:42:PM   #3
Sir Calumn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
2) How do I check?

- You can be sure it's alright if you can play other games on your PC which use Direct 8.1 or higher, otherwise search on google for drivers for the make of video card you have.

3) Is it okay if I just delete everything in that folder?

- Yes

4) Again, How?

- Go to your start menu --> programs --> accessories --> system tools and you should see Disk Defragmentor and Scandisk there.

5) Again, How?

Go to system tools as described above and click system information. If there is a number thats not 0 next to where it says Virtual Memory it should be fine.

6) I have Sophos Remote Update and SpyCleaner Gold running, is that okay?

- As long as their not performing any scans while the game is running it should be OK.

Let me know if that isnt clear enough.
 
Old 26-03-2005, 11:51:PM   #4
antena
Club Supporter
 
antena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
antena is on a distinguished road
Didnt help, I have 43GB of free space.

and my Virtual Memory is 2GB.

I dont think thats my problem....
antena is offline  
Old 26-03-2005, 11:58:PM   #5
Sir Calumn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I dont think so...

It is a shop bought version, right?
 
Old 27-03-2005, 12:28:AM   #6
antena
Club Supporter
 
antena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
antena is on a distinguished road
Yes, from GAME in UK.

Only thing I havent done is delete everything in that Windows/Temp Folder. You sure thats important?
antena is offline  
Old 27-03-2005, 07:50:PM   #7
antena
Club Supporter
 
antena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
antena is on a distinguished road
i done all that. now it just re-starts instead of locking the PC. it restarts the Pc without any warnings or anything.
antena is offline  
Old 28-03-2005, 08:34:PM   #8
Sir Calumn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hmmm, how many leagues have you got selected?

I also take it you have the patch - if not, download it from www.cm5patch.com

A few possibilities:

Try changing your screen resolution to the one that's smaller (makes the screen bigger) than the one you have at the moment.

Also, when playing matches make sure you press Play Match only once.

Search on google for Direct-X 9 and download it.

Go to Ctrl+Alt+Delete and check processes - end any that look like spy/adware (things like Download Plus, BargainHunter, Cashback etc)

See if any of that works, if not we'll try to think of something else
 
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:44:AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
You Rated this Thread: